Stumped on what to read next? Try Blending!

like this, but with genres. Photo courtesy of Kristoffer Trolle via Flickr. https://www.flickr.com/photos/kristoffer-trolle

Like this, but with genres.

I frequently read a blog called Tales from the RAT Queen, which is written by Lucy Lockley, the Collection Development Manager for the St. Charles City-County Library here in Missouri. She’s a dynamic person, and her blog always has interesting posts that send me looking for titles to add to my TBR list!

I had remembered seeing something on her blog about a genre blender, and I found it here. Last December, Lucy wrote about Genrify, “where genres mix and mingle.” I had tried it back then and recently, when I was looking for something new to read, I tried it again. Genrify has a really cool thing called a Blender, where you can choose two to three genres, blend, and then see what books come up. For example, I chose “Adrenaline” and “Science Fiction” and blended — and found some books on the title list that I had already read and enjoyed (11/22/63 by Stephen King), a few books I’ve been meaning to read (Afterparty by Daryl Gregory) and a few I’d never heard of. How cool is that? Very. Definitely a fun and easy way to find some new books if you’re in a reading slump.

You can find more information about new books, display ideas, and readers’ advisory advice on Tales from the RAT Queen.

Blender photo courtesy of Kristoffer Trolle via Flickr

About centerforthereader

St. Louis Central Library, Center for the Reader, is where you can find fiction, reading suggestions, author information, and much more!
This entry was posted in Readers' Advisory and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stumped on what to read next? Try Blending!

  1. Julie Failla Earhart says:

    this is so cool!

    Like

We welcome your thoughts!

