Books Make a Home

Collage-4 booksDo books make a home?  I think so, but then again, I’m a voracious reader. There actually is a book titled Books Make a Home: Elegant Ideas for Storing and Displaying Books by Damian Thompson. I had been browsing the collection in our Fine Arts room here at the Library, and the book caught my eye. Having recently moved into a new house, setting up my bookcases was something I was looking forward to. And then, after I got all of the bookcases in the one room, and arranged my books . . . my brother took one look and said he had a better way to do it (and also, how to anchor the shelves). Once I thought about it, I realized his vision for the room would make the space work in a way that my original setup just wasn’t making happen.

Now, after looking through the Thompson book that I brought home from the Library, I realize that I don’t just need a new arrangement of my shelves; I need a new house. One with built-in bookcases and shelves under stairs in and in corridors! Just kidding.  

Maybe with the new year approaching, you’re looking for some new ideas on how to shelve or display your own books. We have the Thompson book in the Library, but we also have a few others you might find helpful:
Living with Books by Alan Powers
House Beautiful: Decorating with Books by Marie Proeller Hueston
Novel Interiors: Living in Enchanted Rooms Inspired by Literature by Lisa Borgnes Giramonti

The links in the titles will take you to our catalog (or ask any of our friendly staff).

About centerforthereader

St. Louis Central Library, Center for the Reader, is where you can find fiction, reading suggestions, author information, and much more!
This entry was posted in Libraries. Bookmark the permalink.

We welcome your thoughts!

