Reading resolutions? Try 101 lies, instead.

Greta Garbo wants to be alone . . . to read.

A lot of people make resolutions, but when I saw this, I thought to myself: Hmm….  Maybe one of your resolutions for 2016 is to make more time for reading. If so, you might find this list on BookRiot to be helpful. Personally, I recognize that there are times when I just need the rest of the world to recede a bit because I need to keep reading. BookRiot also recognizes this and has provided a helpful list of “101 Lies to Tell So You Can Stay Home and Read.”

Examples:
#1: I have a sunburn and I fear that any exposure to the elements will cause me discomfort. No, you can’t come here. I’m too ashamed of my sunburn.
#14: I tasted vanilla extract and the fact that something that smells so good can taste so bad is making me question everything I know about the world.
#28: I tried to make beignets in my own kitchen and cannot find my way out of the sweet powdered sugar chaos.
and one of my favorites: #15: I saw a mouse and I am waiting to see if I see it again. This brought back memories of my last apartment in Chicago.

Perhaps you’ll find a useful lie on this list, as well.

About centerforthereader

St. Louis Central Library, Center for the Reader, is where you can find fiction, reading suggestions, author information, and much more!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

We welcome your thoughts!

